Shop By


View as Grid List

1 Item

Set Ascending Direction
per page

Languedoc includes the departments of Aude, Gard and Hérault. Also sometimes referred to as De Midi. In the 19th century, after the construction of railways, Languedoc became the wine barn of France with high production at a low price. In the 20th century, competition from other countries forced them to pay more attention to quality. Vineyards on the fertile plain were grubbed up and new ones were built on the slopes. Fitou wine was the first wine in 1948 with an Appellation d'origine contrôlée - abbreviated AOC - in the eighties, Faugères, St-Chinian, Minervois, Corbières and Coteaux du Languedoc followed.
Coteaux de Languedoc is the largest wine district with 50,000 ha and 121 municipalities. A number of municipalities are allowed to add their name to the appellation. Picpoul de Pinet, a white wine that is excellent for drinking with shellfish and fish, only Picpoul blanc is used and the Clairette du Languedoc is also made from one grape variety.
Corbières is 15,000 ha in size and the Fitou district is in the middle of it. To the north of this is the Minervois (5000 ha) and to the east of it the smaller areas St-Chinian and Faugères.
The Blanquette and the Crémant de Limoux are sparkling wines. Naturally sweet wines are the Vin Doux Naturel (VDN): AOC Muscat de Frontignan (800 ha) and the smaller Lunel, Mireval and Saint-Jean de Minervois.